Opening day…

For many years now I felt pressure to have my own blog …. and I resisted. I never liked to keep a journal. It might be my upbringing in the Soviet Union – you write something down and later it is used against you.

At last, I decided to start a blog. I am not going to write about my everyday life and what I bought for dinner in the supermarket. My blog is going to be about knitting, spinning and it is an invitation to my friends to visit and talk to me. And it is going to be sometimes in Russian, sometimes in English.

From the very beginning:

Note to Trolls – I am out of troll food. Permanently. If you want to troll me, you have to know that you will be taken by Charon to the other side and left there . Forever. In oblivion.

The most ironic about me starting my blog today is that it is triggered by event so much Soviet Union style, that it is most amazing.

Here is what happened: a week ago I was banned from Ravelry. Yes.  I. WAS.BANNED.FROM.RAVELRY. Along with some hundred and twenty other people.

I was banned as a member of conservative political group on Ravelry. (What does it have to do with knitting? Well, knitting was a base where we met first).

What I was given– lame, stamped explanation. Exactly the same as all other banned members of the group. I was notified that all my posts, private messages etc are going to be completely erased from Ravelry.  FORGET HEROSTRATUS;  hmm, I mean forget me. I did not start any fire, though and I was not seeking any fame or infamy.

What I was not given– I was not given a list of my crimes against Ravelry, since none exists; I was not given an opportunity to appeal the decision

quote:  If you fell you have been suspended in error, you are welcome to submit a request for reinstatement to legal@ravelry.com and we will consider these appeals on case-by- base basis. However, I will advise that if you were a member of bunkerboard.com we will not consider your appeal. unquote

And signature:

Craig S. Stelmach, Esq. Ravelry, LLC

OK. I am member of bunkerboard.com. So, I did not appeal.

I was not given any opportunity to remove my contents from Ravelry myself. My intellectual property in the form of my posts, number of wich were educational, by other people’s opinions, was destroyed. I usually wrote my posts in the Ravelry window, so I do not have copies in my computer.

What I am going to do about Ravelry? I do not know yet. Even if I knew, I wouldn’t tell about it here.

What I am not going to do? I am not going to cry my eyes out, pull my hair and put ashes on my head. That’s for sure.

I am going to go on with my life. I am a member of knitting and spinning community and I am going to stay there as long as I breath. I am going to knit, spin, design and, maybe, write down my patterns more frequently.

And I am going to speak my mind.

Welcome to my blog!

23 Comments

Filed under Just talk

23 responses to “Opening day…

  1. I, too, will miss you on Ravelry – I always appreciated your incredible words of wisdom in the Spindlers group. I hope you’ll continue to discuss spindling here and continue to share your wisdom, especially as it relates to the Tibetan spindle. 🙂

    -Mary
    (BloomKitty)

  2. Tina

    I’m one of the Bunker members who was not banned. I remember your insightful posts about communism. I miss the Bunker so much. It was a wonderful gathering of intelligent ladies. I learned so much there. Kudos to all of you. Never give up the fight.

  3. vereteno

    Come and ask – I will answer and put it on the blog. Other people may have the same questions. I will be glad to have people chatting here!

  4. Rachel

    I miss your advice. I am glad that you are starting a blog though. We have all missed you….
    (yukonviolet)

  5. Great site this vereteno.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor🙂

  6. KathyC

    I’m so honored to find your blog right after you started it! I’m one of the “left behind” on Ravelry, and I know I’m not the only one who was upset by what happened. We miss your thoughtful posts. I love your positive attitude. God bless!

  7. Suzie

    Yet one more blog for me to check, and I will do so with enthusiasm. You write beautiful patterns, and I’m glad to see you ‘out here’. Looking forward to seeing you in the future.

    As to the other, it has been positively Kafkaesque, no? Accused, but ‘we’re not going to tell you of what’.

  8. 7thswan

    Hi, I’ve always appreciated your words of wisdom. It will be nice to keep up with your Blog and Knitting.

  9. Welcome to the blog world from another loud and proud Bunker Babe. I’m glad to call you a friend.

  10. It’s good be in such great company. What a terrific first post. Welcome to blogging.

  11. MizDi

    Sieglinde beat me to it, but I’d also like to welcome you to the blogosphere. You have so much wisdom and experience to share that it would nearly be a sin to keep it to yourself! Thanks for sharing yourself with us, m’dear!

  12. Great first post! I look forward to more fibery discussions. :>)

  13. SimplyMe

    What a beautiful first post. I love your style of writing and your analogies (right word?). I look forward to keeping up with you.

  14. Wonderful post. Will be checking in regularly.

  15. Yay! I’m so glad you started a blog. I have always admired your posts on the bunker. You were one of the people who I really hoped was still with us. And here you are! So keep on blogging and I will be a faithful reader and fan!

  16. MsJ

    Wonderful post. I’m with you, no gnashing of teeth or hysterics on my part as a matter of fact right the opposite. I feel like someone has given me a pardon and I have been set free after being exposed to the red light district of the knitting universe.

    Proud to be a member of the Banned Sisterhood of BunkerBabes.

  17. Welcome to the blog world! You are a very welcome addition.

  18. It’s great to be in such good company with you, Vereteno!!!!

  19. TheWriteStuff

    Vereteno, I too have found my voice. Though so far I have not started a blog, I also have never posted on one. Until recently. It’s nice to know that we have places to meet and chat. I’d like to stop by every now and then just to ask how you’re doing; to let you know what’s up in my life. Tah for now.

  20. I’m so glad you have started a blog. I look forward to visiting with you here! 🙂

  21. Sieglinde

    Very well said. I am going to link you on my blogroll, I hope you do not mind – believe me it will not cause you to be overrun with visitors! Welcome to the blogosphere!

  22. Cathleen

    {What I am not going to do? I am not going to cry my eyes out, pull my hair and put ashes on my head. That’s for sure.}

    Good words of advice for all of us. I tried doing the crying, hair pulling, etc. It didn’t suit me too well. So thanks, from another one of “those who would be banned.”

  23. mrspi

    I especially like the part where you label yourself a fiber artist first. And I’m inspired by your saying you will write down your patterns more often. Yes…and Yes. ! I’m glad to number you among my cyber friends. :o)

    P.S. The hazelnut coffee I’m sipping is superb!

Leave a Reply

